top of page

A Spot of Music Therapy


Photo courtesy of mrceviz, http://bit.ly/1IBgCRK

With chronic illness often comes chronic pain. It’s a part of the disease that may ebb and flow, but when you have it, boy, do you have it.

But have no fear; music is here! Yep, that’s right. Some good tunes may be just the medication you need to get some relief in the pain department. Studies show that music can affect your emotions, reduce pain, and help manage stress.

According to the article “A Dose of Music for Pain Relief” published on brainfacts.org, “Brain scans reveal that listening to pleasing music increases activity in parts of the brain's reward center.” Music can actually help relieve pain by releasing dopamine to make you feel good.

As an added bonus, the article also states that music can simply be a distraction. When people listen to music, they often don’t think about their pain, so they actually feel less pain, especially when you really focus on the music that is playing.

And music isn’t just good pain therapy for adults. Children reap the benefits, too. A recent study showed that the burden of pain in children who underwent a major surgical procedure decreased when the children listened to music or an audiobook.

For many with psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, stress can be huge trigger for a disease flare. I speak from experience. Each time I flare, I can trace it back to a stressful time or specific life event, so managing stress is a key to managing my disease.

According to PsychCentral.com and its article, “The Power of Music to Reduce Stress,” incorporating music into your busy life by listening to the radio in the car, playing music in the shower, and throwing your earbuds in when walking the dog can make a big difference in your mood. And you can also reduce tension when singing along to your favorite song.

We all have those go-to songs to liven our mood and help pull us out the funk from a bad day. For some, their playlists consist of classical artists like Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, and Wagner. Others prefer modern hip-hop artists like Chris Brown, Drake, and Wiz Khalifa. Some go for time periods like ‘70s disco or ‘90s boy bands.

For me, I’m a little all over the place, but two things are a must: (1) I must be able to dance to it, and (2) I can make a fool of myself singing along with it. (I used to tell my son that he better behave in the car or I would drive by his friend’s house, turn the music up loud, and sing at the top of my voice. That did the trick.)

So, listed below are my top 5 songs on my “Psoriasis Pstinks” playlist. It’s probably no coincidence that they are also on the Spotify playlist “Guilty Pleasures.” And, yes, I sing the songs as loud as I can, but often in the car with no one around.

#5: Bye Bye Bye by 'N Sync

http://bit.ly/1fnQKgm

Reasons on my playlist: Um, it’s sung by a boy band, and I’ve never really outgrown that. Although, NKOTB is still my favorite boy band of all time, Bye Bye Bye is on my “Psoriasis Pstinks” playlist because one day, maybe my psoriatic diseases will go bye-bye.

“I know that I can’t take no more. It ain’t no lie. I wanna see you out that door. Baby, bye bye bye.”

#4: Dancin’ Queen by ABBA

Reasons on my playlist: It reminds me of my younger days. I started in dance classes – tap dancing, to be exact – at the age of 5. By the time I was in high school, I was competing a few times a year. At age 16, I was teaching the little ones, and eventually the older ones. So, this one is all about nostalgia. That’s it, nothing else. It just makes me want to sing very, very loudly and DANCE.

“You are the dancin’ queen, young and sweet, only 17.”

#3: Poker Face by Lady Gaga

Reasons on my playlist: We all need to put on our poker faces once in a while. How many times have you put on a good face and said you’re doing ok when you’re really not? Sometimes you do have to fake it until you make it.

“Can’t read my, can’t read my, no he can’t read my poker face.”

#2: Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey

Reasons on my playlist: It’s just a feel-good, rock ballad that never gets old. I can scream this song at the top of my lungs and get it all out. The message of don’t stop believing is a pretty good message, too. And, while those from the Detroit area know there is no such place as “South Detroit” (that would be Windsor, Ontario), we still love this song, and it can be heard at many sporting events and arenas around town.

“Don’t stop believin’! Hold on to that feeling!”

#1: Good Life by OneRepublic

Reasons on my playlist: Chronic illness stinks, but we are alive, and that’s a wonderful thing. Psoriatic disease is only one part of our lives. We are much more than the disease alone. I like the positive reminder that I am able to get out of bed each day (though some days are harder than others), I am pretty independent, and I have family and friends who love me.

“When everything is up, you’ve gotta take it in.” Also, “Hopelessly, the hope is we have so much to feel good about.”

What are your go-to, feel-good tunes? Send me an email and I’ll include them in a blog later this year.

bottom of page