top of page

A Spot of Kickboxing Fun


Click on the following link to view the video that originally was broadcasted on Periscope on June 29, 2015. Special thanks to Courtney Trumbell and WOW Fitness: http://bit.ly/1BUCqe9

Oh, Mondays! How I loathe you!

Yesterday, I started work on new monthly publications at work. After 15 years of working on the same publication, I gave up the weekly deadlines and took on two different publications within the same great company. Only problem is that I’ve rarely worked on monthly publications, and the switch came rather fast and I haven’t had time to adjust.

What a stressful first day! Boy, was I glad I was able to get to the gym and release some of the tension with my weekly kickboxing class. I went to class feeling stressed out and left feeling completely exhausted. Just the way I like it!

My friend Courtney documented my day at the gym yesterday by broadcasting on Periscope. Thank you to WOW Fitness in Sylvan Lake, Mich., for allowing cameras into the class. Unfortunately, due to a technical error, I had to use my husband’s phone to video the Periscope video on my phone because the original videos did not archive. You can watch the compiled Periscope video here. (It actually turned out ok, given our limitations. The next one will be better, I promise!)

So, you may be wondering how I am able to participate in a high-impact exercise class with psoriatic arthritis. I was actually participating before my first major flare three years ago. I love kickboxing. I’m no expert, and there are some days when I just flail around, but even then, I am getting exercise of some sort, and I didn't want psoriatic arthritis to keep me from kickboxing, so I kept at it, with a few modifications, of course.

During my last big disease flare, my doctor at the time took kickboxing off the table. No more, bye-bye. I felt so defeated, but I continued to come to class. I followed her orders and did not kick the bags or work with the trainer on the focus mitts. I wasn’t happy, but I did it.

Once I was placed on a biologic medication, my energy went up, and pain and stiffness went down. I got clearance to go full speed ahead with kickboxing once again. I was so excited!

Even now, I still need to modify the kickboxing exercises. Yesterday, my left knee gave me trouble and pain, so I spent most of the class modifying my stance to put more weight on my right leg. Some of the kicks are harder to do than others. And yes, I do get frustrated from time to time. I want to be back 100 percent. I have yet to reach that goal, but I won’t give up.

And, you shouldn’t give up either. After all, exercise and stretching are some of the best forms of medicine for arthritis.

Be sure to talk with your doctor first, but many exercise programs can be modified and made safe for those with arthritis. Although kickboxing is my favorite, I also swim and do yoga, which are great and low-impact.

Cycling is also good if you keep the resistance low. Of course, if you have psoriasis in an area touching the bike seat, then cycling may not be for you because friction can irritate the skin actually make the psoriasis worse.

If you belong to a gym, be sure to tell the instructors and trainers of your arthritis. Chances are, they will have some good advice and exercises for you to try.

The point is, exercise is good medicine. It relieves stress, helps you maintain a good weight (I’m still working on that one!) and build muscles to lessen the stress on your joints, and increases flexibility.

What are your favorite exercises? Send me an email and I’ll include it in an upcoming blog.

bottom of page