top of page

A Spot of Relief


The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, California.

I'm back! Unfortunately, my insane work schedule these past few weeks have put a damper on my writing. But taking some time off has been good for my mind and body.

My family decided to piggyback a mini vacation in San Francisco while we're here for the National Psoriasis Foundation’s National Volunteer Conference (#NVC15). Despite huge hills to climb in the city – there really is no way to adequately give you a picture of how steep and long these streets are… CRAZY – and long distance travel, my psoriatic arthritis did not flare. I’m just so excited!

I walked and walked, and kept up with the family for two straight days with minimal pain and stiffness. And, my first night there, I slept better than I had in weeks back in Michigan.

So, did I take a magic pill? Nope. I'm pretty sure a lot has to do with the San Francisco weather: no rain, little change in temperature, not hot, not cold, not humid. 67 degrees and partly sunny every day. My body is in love! And when I feel little pain, I'm in a good mood all around.

In Michigan, we have a saying: If you don't like the weather, wait five minutes and it will change. The ups and downs in temperature, precipitation, and humidity often make my psoriatic arthritis very angry. Even before I hear the day's weather forecast, I know how humid and rainy it will be based on how miserable I feel.

But I wasn’t in Michigan any more. How wonderful it was to experience the San Francisco climate, even if it was only for a few days. I wish I could have stayed forever! I would even take the steep hills as a trade off. After all, I would get a very good workout climbing them every day, so not really a trade off after all.

As I thought, not long after landing in Detroit, the hot, humid weather got the best of me. Soon I was walking like a penguin again – stiff and waddling.

It's not unusual for arthritis patients to be even more accurate than meteorologists. The Arthritis Foundation even has a site where you can put in your city and see what your arthritis forecast. Check out the arthritis index and see what your predicted joint pain level is in your zip code. It’s not surprising that, San Francisco rated low, and Michigan rated high when I returned home.

Well, relief was good while it lasted. Now it’s back to reality.

bottom of page