top of page

A Spot of High-Cost Treatments


Thank you to Ian Houston for taking this photo of us last year.

It's been a crazy, busy time for me. I never knew having a senior in high school would be so demanding on my time. Not that I'm complaining - I just wasn't prepared.

So with this current whirlwind of work, school, and volunteering, I'm going to take this opportunity to relax this week in the blogosphere and ask that you read an important article about the high cost of prescription drugs:

Pulling the Plug on Speciality Tiers for Psoriatic Arthritis Therapies Congress can help put effective treatments in the hands of more patients

Published Nov. 6, 2015 on the Celgene website.

This topic seems extremely relevant to me as I head to the drug store to pick up new anti-inflammatory eye drops to help with inflammation in my eyes. Did I mention the retail cost is $375 for a tiny bottle? Thankfully, I don't need to use the drops often, and one bottle usually lasts for a year.

Choosing between medicine, food, and shelter should never happen. Sadly, it does. Our family is lucky that we have a few Rx assistance plans in place to help us afford our treatments. But the reality is that many people and families do not.

Please urge your members of Congress to support such legislation as Patients' Access to Treatment Act (PATA) that aims to lower out-of-pocket costs for biologics and other specialty medications. Your voice is important and they need to hear you.

bottom of page