top of page

A Spot of Feeling Powerful


A big thank you to HealthCentral.com for allowing me to be part of such a great psoriasis awareness project: The Big Picture. Click here to check out all of the stories in the project.


I’m often asked how in the world I can kickbox when I have psoriatic arthritis. People often think one of the following:

  • I must be in remission. Remission would be awesome! I’m definitely looking forward to reaching that, but I’m not there yet.

  • I take lots of pain meds before and after class. Pain meds and I don’t agree. I’m super sensitive to them. If I take NyQuil after 9 pm, I won’t wake up before noon the next day.

  • I really don’t have psoriatic arthritis. I’m just making it up. Oh, how I wish this were true! PsA runs in my family, and unfortunately, I’m one of the lucky ones to have it. I currently take a biologic medication and a low-dose chemotherapy drug to keep my diseases in check.

  • I don’t actually make contact with the bags, or I must spend most of the class in the corner spectating. I make contact with the bags every chance I get. Sometimes it’s light; sometimes it’s hard. It just depends on how I’m feeling each day. I do what I can, and that’s it.

I won’t lie. There are times when I don’t feel like going to class. There are times when just walking up the flight of stairs to get to the gym is rough. But here’s the thing: I NEED KICKBOXING.

I started kickboxing before I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis, and it was something that I enjoyed doing. I do it mainly for stress relief. I get cranky when I’m stressed out, and I tend to take it out on the people who are closest to me – mostly my family. In other words, when mama ain’t happy, ain’t no one happy. So, for everyone’s sake, mama needs some zen.

Sure, there are lots of ways I could clear my mind other than kickboxing: a peaceful walk on the nature trail, massage, yoga, meditation. I do all of these, and I enjoy them, but there is something about mastering a kickboxing move that makes me feel powerful. When I picture my wacky immune system on the bag in front of me, well, I feel like I’m kicking PsA’s butt. All of a sudden, I’m in control. PsA can take a back seat for a little while. Sometimes that little while is the whole class, but sometimes, it is only for a few minutes. Either way, I’m in control for that short time.

This isn’t to say that if you have arthritis, kickboxing is good for you. You should always consult your doctor to find out what activities are appropriate for you and which ones may cause more damage. It’s important for patients to be honest with their doctors. My first rheumatologist said under no condition should I kickbox. She said the activity is too intense and will cause me more pain. That was one – but not the only – reason I found a new doctor. I wasn’t doctor shopping to find someone who would give me the thumbs up to kickbox; I was getting a second opinion. My current doctor listens to me, hears my concerns, and wants to help find a middle ground so I can still participate in kickboxing, but also not damage my joints further. Our agreed upon compromise:

  • No continuous repetitions of the same movement. That will only make my bursitis worse.

  • Modify when pain is present. Punch/kick low, rather than high.

  • Listen to my body when it says enough is enough and rest. This might mean that I have to skip class entirely for a day or two.

  • Stay hydrated. Things get infinitely worse when I don’t drink enough water.

The relationship I have with my trainers is also important. I don’t allow them to push me so hard that I can’t follow my doctor’s plan, and, in turn, they don’t allow me to give up. (Shout-out to Ken and Linda at Smash Hit Kickboxing for being awesome trainers!)

I’m no superstar boxing champ by any stretch of the imagination, but my mind and body and stronger because of it. For me, kickboxing works.

And, as a side note, Laura Deanovic is my boxing hero. Check out her story on HealthCentral.com and see for yourself why she is such an inspiration to me and to those with psoriatic disease.

bottom of page