top of page

A Spot of Challenge Accepted


A Challenge Worth Accepting

"While my disease is quiet (for now!), I challenged myself to climb the beautiful Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and kayak part of the Lake Michigan shoreline in northern Michigan as a way to fundraise for the National Psoriasis Foundation.

The plan was for me to carry our 35-pound tandem kayak and hike roundtrip 3.5 miles through rugged, steep terrain, taking a break half-way through to kayak the Great Lake. For healthy people, completing this would be a great accomplishment. For me, it would have meant that I refuse to let psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis keep me from adventures, experiences and living life to the fullest. Thankfully, I wouldn’t be doing this alone. Heidi, my best friend and contributor to Health Union’s sister site Psoriatic-Arthritis.com, came along to make sure I had help when I needed it, and also to document the adventure.

Well, that was the plan…"

Check out my recent article and video on PlaquePsoriasis.com to find out the details of this challenge where I raised funds for NPF. #PsoriasisActionMonth

bottom of page